Rock's Backpages Library Rock's Backpages
the online library of pop writing

Explosions In The Sky: The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place

David Stubbs, Uncut, January 2004

A FOUR-PIECE COMPRISING just two guitars, bass and drums, Explosions In The Sky seek to capture, examine and elongate moments of high emotion, awe and desolation through playing which rises in cascades of manna and static, then ebbs to a subdued and pensive pulse. Unlike notional peers Godspeed! You Black Emperor, they deliberately limit their sonic options by not deploying strings, synths or samples.

Total word count of piece: 582


Becoming a member is easy. Membership gives you access to all the thousands of articles in the library.

Click here to go to Subscribe page.

Click here for academic and other group subscriptions.